by DeLaSalle | | Uncategorized

photos of students

2022 Alumni Association Scholarships Awards

Tradition is a major part of DeLaSalle and we recognize every day that we stand on the shoulders of those who went before us. On May 3, we recognized students from the Class of 2023 with awards of Alumni Association Scholarships to be applied to their senior year tuition. Each scholarship is named after an alum or former staff member who demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the vision and mission of DeLaSalle High School on a daily basis. In gratitude for the impact DeLaSalle had, the family of each individual created a scholarship fund to recognize students who represent the spirit and commitment of each award.

Recipients of this award demonstrate a commitment to academics, extra-curricular activities, community service, and church involvement. They also follow in the footsteps of at least one relative who has graduated from DeLaSalle. The three winners of this year’s award are Kelly Cambi, Carter Somsanith, and Sam Sullivan.

Christian Brother David Barth was one of the longest-serving teachers at DeLaSalle. His passion for philosophy and Christian virtue was expressed in well-prepared lessons, memorable sayings, and high expectations for all. Recipients of this award have a strong faith in God and demonstrate enthusiasm for academic excellence. This year’s award goes to Kerry McCabe.

This scholarship is named in honor of DeLaSalle graduate Wally Hinz, class of 1960. For many years, Wally served on the Alumni Association Board. He was an ardent promoter and supporter of DeLaSalle sports and Lasallian education. Recipients of this award are honored for their academic achievement, community involvement, leadership, and Islander spirit. This year’s recipients are Kathleen Runion and Jasmine Jara Lazo

This award is given in honor of DeLaSalle alumnus and former Alumni Association president, Denny Farrell from the class of 1962. Denny has devoted decades of service to DeLaSalle and to our Archdiocese. This scholarship recognizes students who excel in community service, volunteering, and active participation in church life. The 2022 recipient of the Farrell Scholarship is Jaqueline Estrada Gomez.

The Class of 1961 created this scholarship named for their classmate, Mike Kelly, who graduated from DeLaSalle despite the challenge of living with autism. Recipients of this scholarship have persevered through a difficult challenge during their high school years. This year’s award goes to Elijah Avent.

Brittani was a member of the Class of 2010 who died in 2020. As a second-generation Islander, she made a lasting impact on her classmates and the DeLaSalle community. The Estes Scholarship honors Brittani’s remarkable life and unwavering love for her family, friends, and the Islander community. Recipients carry forward Brittani’s legacy while also making their own impact on DeLaSalle and beyond. The recipient of the Estes Scholarship is Yeva Adamaley.

This scholarship honors Austin McGeheran, class of 2016 and older brother of Helen McGeheran, class of 2022, who died unexpectedly in July 2021. Austin was known for his infectious personality, deep commitment to friends and family, and strong sense of teamwork. This scholarship was founded by his employer, JSML Media, to provide an opportunity for the DeLaSalle education that Austin valued so much. The inaugural recipient of this scholarship is Riley Blaylark.

This award is named in honor of Lawrence Liddiard, member of the DeLaSalle class of 1951. Mr. Liddiard worked for 37 years in academic computing at the University of Minnesota and was a non-combat veteran of the U.S. Army. He died in 2019 and his family has established this award to support other young Islanders who excel in the field of mathematics. Nominated by the math department, this year’s Liddiard scholarship goes to Bryan Paucar.

The Blake History Award is named in honor of Don Blake, member of the DeLaSalle class of 1969. Mr. Blake is a retired history teacher and principal with a deep affection for DeLaSalle and a passion for supporting deserving students. Each year, the social studies department nominates students who follow in Mr. Blake’s footsteps. This year’s recipient is Jordan Kuhlmann.