by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

DeLaSalle High School congratulates 37 members of its graduating Class of 2021 who have achieved the honor of “Distinguished Scholar.”  These 37 students have earned a cumulative grade point average of 4.0 or better through the first semester of their senior year.  (With accelerated grade point values for Honors and Advanced Placement courses, the range of grade point averages is as high as 4.34.)

Especially this year, in the midst of a pandemic and the many adaptations, we salute these scholars, their parents and families, their teachers at DeLaSalle, and all teachers and adult mentors who have had a positive influence on their education to date.

The “Distinguished Scholar” designation is the program by which DeLaSalle honors graduating students for exemplary grades over four years.   With the vast majority of incoming ninth graders having proven to be highly successful middle school students — and then continuing their strong academic performance in high school — DeLaSalle discontinued using class rank and acknowledgement of only two graduates as valedictorian and salutatorian in 2001-02.  Annually, between 97-99 percent of graduates matriculate to college, and the school salutes the high levels of academic achievement across the entirety of each graduating class.

Congratulations to our Distinguished Scholars in the Class of 2021:

  • Leila Ambrus
  • John Arms
  • Ben Barnd
  • Isabella Benjamin
  • Elijah Blaylark
  • Cheo Cedillo
  • Sophia Chang
  • Chelsea Chukwu
  • Henry Cuzco Jara
  • Theresa DeGross
  • Jazmine Estrada-Gomez
  • Bolu Ilelaboye
  • Abby Johnson
  • Lourdes Lambert
  • Elena Laskowski
  • Kate Mandler
  • Amanda Martinez-Port
  • Allicia Moeller
  • Yuiliana Morocho-Calderon
  • Maeve Murphy
  • Audrey Orfield Johnston
  • Elizabeth Pineda
  • Liliana Rojas
  • Kieran Rowe
  • Kevin Sarmiento-Almarez
  • Sam Schultz
  • Nick Scott
  • Tim Smith
  • Anna Spack
  • John Henry Sullivan
  • Mary Svien
  • Will Sylvain
  • Riley Thompson
  • Ethan Townsend
  • Harrison Wallander
  • Megan Wenner
  • Shane Zenk