by DeLaSalle | | Headlines
Sophia Chang, Will Sylvain, Harrison Wallander, and Megan Wenner are 2021 National Merit Commended students at DeLaSalle.

DeLaSalle proudly salutes four seniors — Sophia Chang, Will Sylvain, Harrison Wallander, and Megan Wenner – who have been recognized as Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.  These four outstanding students are also recognized for their outstanding performance on the 2019 PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Competition.

Chang, Sylvain, Wallander, and Wenner join classmate Allicia Moeller as 2020-21 honorees of the National Merit program.  They are among 34,000 students nationwide receiving Letters of Commendation, from more than 1.5 million high school seniors who entered the 2021 competition.  Commended students are recognized as among the top 50,000 scorers in the country.

All five students are regularly on the High Honor Roll, and they have been active leaders at DeLaSalle in an array of athletics, music and art programs, as student volunteers and more. The four commended students will also be formally recognized at the school’s annual Academic Awards Program later this fall.

This marks the 19th consecutive year that multiple DeLaSalle students have been recognized by the National Merit Scholarship program.

DeLaSalle congratulates all of these scholars, their parents, and their grade school teachers for the considerable effort that led to such outstanding performance.  DeLaSalle is a Catholic, college preparatory high school, drawing its student body from over 125 Twin Cities middle schools.  Over 98 percent of De graduates matriculate to college.