by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

Now that their final classes and assessments have been completed, our attention turns toward announcing accolades for the wonderful (and resilient) DeLaSalle Class of 2020!   Particularly in this most unique year, we are honored to recognize the outstanding scholarship and friendship in this class.

As part of the annual Founder’s Day program on May 15, and as a kick-off to the upcoming graduation ceremonies, the school announced the seniors who will receive the most prestigious awards earned by DeLaSalle seniors in any year, the “DeLaSalle Awards” and “Islander Awards.”    For more than four decades, approximately ten percent of DeLaSalle seniors are honored by vote of the entire staff and the senior class.

The “DeLaSalle Awards” and “Islander Awards” recognize stellar and broad contributions to the community and school’s legacy in areas of academic performance, personal character, and service to school and community.  There were many outstanding candidates in this year’s senior class, but in the end, 16 total seniors had earned the most votes of staff and peers.

The two seniors with the most votes earn the “DeLaSalle Award,” and for 2020, these awards go to Sydney Riley and Jalen Travis.

Fourteen other graduates have earned “Islander Awards” in 2020:  Maya Adelgren, Jacoby Andrews, Megan Benson, Nick Ericksen, Eden Feleke, JunFen Freihammer, Lucy Lyngen, Calvin Mattson, David McComas, Hannah Omodt, Kennedi Roberts, Lucy Suek, Diana Truong, and Jamie Wheeler.

We congratulate the honorees, the entire senior class, and their families as they prepare for graduation from DeLaSalle.  We will use these upcoming two weeks to share the celebrations of accomplishment and commencement.  Collectively their plans will take them to colleges from one coast to the other.  Islanders will indeed be going everywhere!  We will forevermore keep this class in our prayers as they continue to make better their new college communities and befriend and serve all the new people they will meet!