by DeLaSalle | | Headlines
The History Day projects by An Nguyen-Trinh and Calvin Mattson qualified for the national competition June 9-13, 2019

DeLaSalle students proved their historical research skills are among the best in state at the Minnesota History Day competition May 4 – with two first place category winners advancing their projects to National History Day next month and 17 other projects earning recognition as a top five medalist or honorable mention in their categories.

Calvin Mattson ‘20 in Individual Performance and An Nguyen-Trinh ‘20 in Individual Documentary each earned first place in their categories, which qualifies them to move on to National History Day at the University of Maryland in June.

Six other projects were also recognized as State top five medalists, just missing the top two finish in their category which would have qualified them to go to Nationals: Joey Hanson ‘20 won third place in Individual Exhibit; Parker Adams ‘20 placed fourth in Individual Performance; Eden Feleke ‘20 earned 4th place in Individual Web Site; Abby Hames `20 scored 4th place in Research Paper; Joshua Alfano ‘20 captured 5th place in Individual Web Site; and William Grass ‘20 brought home a 5th place finish in Individual Documentary.

Furthermore, eleven other DeLaSalle projects earned Honorable Mention in their categories, and two projects earned Topical Prizes as the best projects in specific categories: Maya Adelgren ‘20 won a topical award in global studies and Vivian Pham ‘20 received a topical award in immigration history.

The State competition, on May 4 at the University of Minnesota, brought together history scholars from across the state.  From results at the March 18th Metro Regional History Day competition, 56 DeLaSalle students had been chosen by independent judges to advance 32 separate projects or research papers to State.  Advancing from nine separate regional competitions held throughout March, students from all corners of Minnesota presented their projects or papers at State.

History Day is an annual project in the 11th grade Social Studies curriculum that gives juniors an opportunity to become expert historians by selecting and researching a topic of their choice around a national theme, which this year is “Triumph and Tragedy.” Students produced exhibits, dramatizations, websites, documentaries, and research papers, and they first displayed their projects for judging at DeLaSalle on February 19.

Congratulations to all the DeLaSalle participants in State History Day and good luck to the students who have advanced to the National History Day competition June 9-13.

Individual Exhibits

  • STATE QUALIFIER: Paige Ung – “Fall of a Nation:  The Cambodian Genocide and Khmer Rouge”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Maya Shepherd – “Josef Mengele: The Angel of Death”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: MAGGIE HALLER – “Smallpox as Biological Warfare”
  • STATE 3RD PLACE MEDALIST: Joey Hanson – “The Warsaw Uprising of 1944”
  • STATE QUALIFIER / WINNER OF TOPICAL PRIZE: Maya Adelgren – “Wangari Maathai: Planting the Green Belt Movement”


Group Exhibits

  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Margaret Engel, Mack Person, Alexis Starr, and Chase Taylor – “The Tulsa Race Riot of 1921”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Megan Benson, Lucy Lyngen, and Maya Wosepka – “Dr. Suess Political Cartoons”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Imelda Mongo, Weslyn Harmon, Jacoby Andrews, Kennedi Roberts – “Elimination of Afro-Argentines”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Andrea Beltran-Moore &  Sara Pallchizaca – “The Thalidomide Tragedy: A Pharmaceutical Nightmare”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Andrew Irvin, Jalen Travis, David McComas & Rayo Daniel – W.E.B. DuBois: The New Negro


Individual Documentaries

  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Jamie Wheeler – “Federal Theatre Project”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Grace DeRoche – “Female Mozart”
  • STATE 5TH PLACE MEDALIST: William Grass – “The Forgotten Truth: Redlining in America”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Ainsley Cox – “The Conservation Camping Trip”
  • STATE QUALIFIER / TOPICAL PRIZE IN IMMIGRATION HISTORY: Vivian Pham – “A Journey to Freedom:  The Vietnamese Boat People”


Group Documentaries

  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Wyatt Gibb, Ethan Huber & George Mignogna – “Battle of Stalingrad”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Mara Valme-Jones & Greta Vanstrum – “The Tragic Formation of MS-13”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Henry Fisher, Nick Ericksen & Nathan Omodt – “Operation Gunnerside”


Individual Websites

  • STATE QUALIFIER: Jennifer Barahona – “Bracero Program”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: JunFen Freihammer – “Chinese Exclusion Act”
  • STATE 4TH PLACE MEDALIST: Eden Feleke – “Resisting Colonialism: Ethiopia’s Triumph over Italy”
  • STATE 5TH PLACE MEDALIST: Joshua Alfano – “Kim Il Sung”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Lucy Wojda – “Witold Pilecki “


Group Websites

  • STATE QUALIFIER: Eleanor Paulsen & Chalon Coley – “Ida B. Wells“
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Megan Scobee, Emily Reed & Henry Deinema – “Reform in Minnesota Mental Institutions”
  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Eleanor Snee, Hannah Omodt & Sydney Riley – “Rosemary Kennedy”
  • STATE QUALIFIER: Liam Maves, Bodi Sutton & MJ Lagos – “Woodstock”


Individual Performances

  • STATE HONORABLE MENTION: Diana Truong – “Agent Orange: Across Two Worlds”
  • STATE 4TH PLACE MEDALIST: Parker Adams – “Eva and Juan Peron/Peronism”
  • STATE 1ST PLACE MEDALIST / NATIONAL QUALIFIER: Calvin Mattson – “Magically Suppressing a Revolution “



  • STATE 4TH PLACE MEDALIST: Abigail Hames – “J. Marion Sims:  The Father of Modern Gynecology”