by DeLaSalle | | Headlines
2019 Girls' Basketball All Tournament Team

The Islanders were busy all winter, with hundreds of students engaged with robotics, speech, mock trial, Technovation, multiple theater productions, boys’ and girls’ hockey, wrestling, boys’ swimming, competition cheer, boys’ and girls’ basketball, quiz bowl, music and art programs, and more…

One De student earned a most unique title outside of school activities:  Gabby Hill `19, while competing with her club team, captured her fourth consecutive state title in fencing, a sport she will pursue in college.

In addition to the recent, wonderful news about awards for “Newsies” and the accomplishments of DeLaSalle Theater Program, we recap the accolades earned — and once again congratulate — other DeLaSalle teams and several individuals whose seasons ended earlier this winter (While most activities do not have an opportunity for “All-Conference” or other awards, but we are proud to recognize these students who have earned accolades for their talent and hard work:



All Conference:  Adaire Criner ’19

All Conference Honorable Mention: Caroline Capacchione ’22, Kalina Larsen ’19, Jonah Rawley ’21, Michael Underwood II ’20, Althea “Raina” Vance ’21, Abby Wagner ’20,


Girls’ Hockey:

All Conference:  Maddie Duca `19

Honorable Mention All-Conference:  Leah Lyngen `19



Honorable Mention All-Conference:  Matt Benson `20


Quiz Bowl:

For the 13th consecutive year, at least one of DeLaSalle’s several Quiz Bowl foursomes has qualified for the National Quiz Bowl Championships.  The De program is one of the largest and most successful in Minnesota.

National Qualifying Team – DeLaSalle “A”:   Ben Maruggi `19, Joseph Phelan `19, Andrew Amell `20, Sebastian Dominguez-Giron `20


Competition Cheer:

DeLaSalle’s competition cheer team finished first at the Minnesota State Class A Cheerleading Championships, their third state title in a row and the eleventh competition cheerleading state championship since De started the program in 1997.  De also qualified to compete at their 19th National Championship competition, the seventh time qualifying for the prestigious UCA National Championships in Orlando in February.

UCA All-American:   Iyana Ford-Pettis `19, Lisa Nyenie-Wea `19, An Nguyen-Trinh `20, Sarah Ruckett `20

Minnesota Honor Team of Excellence:  Dana Corbin `19


Girls’ Basketball

The girls’ team earned the fourth State Championship in school history, capturing the Class AAA title with state tourney wins over Hibbing, Holy Angles and Becker.  For the program, it was their tenth trip to State in the past 14 years.  The team finished with a 24-5 overall record and as champions of the Tri-Metro Conference and Section 4AAA.

All Conference:  Mary Clare Francois `19, Nora Francois `21, and Nurjei Weems `20

Honorable Mention All-Conference:  Leah Dengerud `22 and Savannah White `22

Wells Fargo All-Tournament Team:  Mary Clare Francois `19, Kiani Lockett`22, and Nurjei Weems `20


Boys’ Basketball

The boys’ team captured the 24th State Championship in school history, twelve in Independent or Catholic school tourneys prior to 1975 and now matching that with the 12th State title since first being admitted to the Minnesota State High School League in 1975.  De finished with a 27-5 record, defeating Bemidji, Princeton, and Waseca in the Class AAA State Tournament.

Academic All-State:  Jamison Battle `19, Tyrell Terry `19

All State, All Metro, Finalist for Mr. Basketball Minnesota and for the McDonald Award:  Tyrell Terry `19

All State, All Metro Third Team, Semi-Finalist for both the Mr. Basketball Minnesota and for the McDonald Award:  Jamison Battle `19

All Conference: Jamison Battle `19, Kameron Givens `19, Andrew Irvin `20, Jalen Travis `20, Tyrell Terry `19

Honorable Mention All-Conference: Semaj Hart `20, Julian Wright `19

Wells Fargo All-Tournament Team:  Jamison Battle `19, Kameron Givens `19, Tyrell Terry `19