by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

We are proud of our history scholars!  DeLaSalle salutes 56 students who, as individuals or in groups, are advancing 32 projects to the 2019 Minnesota State History Day competition on May 4 at the University of Minnesota.  These 56 students earned their trips to the State Competition at the Metro Senior High Regional History Day competition on March 18 at Augsburg College.

At State, these students’ projects will be judged once again, and they may be chosen to advance on to the National History Day competition at the University of Maryland in June.  Of note, more students from DeLaSalle have advanced more projects and papers to the State History Day competition than from any other high school in Minnesota over the past 12 years.   From the Metro Regionals, De qualified 32 projects for State, and the next highest number from any school was 11.

History Day is an annual project in the 11th grade Social Studies curriculum that gives juniors an opportunity to become expert historians by selecting and researching a topic of their choice around a national theme, which this year is “Triumph and Tragedy in History.” Students produced exhibits, dramatizations, websites, documentaries, or research papers, and they first displayed their projects for judging at DeLaSalle on February 19.

We also salute lead teachers, Martin Marrin and Sheri Hank, and the entirety of the Social Studies department for their work with these scholars.  In total, 70 DeLaSalle students advanced 37 projects to the Metro Regionals by virtue of their hard work this year.

Congratulations to all students who qualified for Regionals, and good luck at State to:

Individual Exhibits

Maggie Haller – “Smallpox as Biological Warfare” –STATE QUALIFIER

Joey Hanson – “The Warsaw Uprising of 1944” –STATE QUALIFIER

Maya Shepherd – “Right” or “Left,” “Slave” or “Death” (Josef Mengele and the Twin Experiments) –STATE QUALIFIER

Paige Ung – “Fall of a Nation:  The Cambodian Genocide and Khmer Rouge” –STATE QUALIFIER

Maya Adelgren – “Wangari Maathai: Planting the Green Belt Movement” – STATE QUALIFIER

Kai Sobaski – “One-Child Policy” – Regionals Qualifier



Group Exhibits

Andrea Beltran-Moore & Sara Pallchizaca – “The Thalidomide Tragedy: A Pharmaceutical Nightmare” –STATE QUALIFIER

Andrew Irvin, Jalen Travis, David McComas & Rayo Daniel – “W.E.B. DuBois: The New Negro” –STATE QUALIFIER

Lucy Lyngen, Megan Benson & Maya Wosepka – “Dr. Seuss Political Cartoons” –STATE QUALIFIER

Imelda Mongo, Weslyn Harmon, Jacoby Andrews, Kennedi Roberts – “Elimination of Afro-Argentines” –STATE QUALIFIER

Chase Taylor, Margaret Engel, Mack Person & Alexis Cochran-Starr – “Black Wall Street” –STATE QUALIFIER

Emma Copeland & Sarah Ruckett – “Life and Legacy of Stanley Milgram” – Regionals Qualifier


Individual Documentaries

Ainsley Cox – “The Conservation Camping Trip” –STATE QUALIFIER

Grace DeRoche – “Female Mozart” –STATE QUALIFIER

Will Grass – “Redlining” –STATE QUALIFIER

An Nguyen-Trinh – “Comfort Women” –STATE QUALIFIER

Vivian Pham – “A Journey to Freedom:  The Vietnamese Boat People” –STATE QUALIFIER

Jamie Wheeler -”Federal Theatre Project” –STATE QUALIFIER



Group Documentaries

Henry Fisher, Nick Ericksen & Nathan Omodt – “Operation Gunnerside” –STATE QUALIFIER

Wyatt Gibb, Ethan Huber & George Mignogna – “Battle of Stalingrad” –STATE QUALIFIER

Mara Valme-Jones & Greta Vanstrum – “MS-13” –STATE QUALIFIER

Elliot Steeves, James Pfarr, Michael Underwood & Lucas Comstock – “Great Schism of 1054” –Regionals Qualifier and Honorable Mention


Individual Websites

Joshua Alfano – “Kim Il Sung” –STATE QUALIFIER

Jennifer Barahona – “Bracero Program” –STATE QUALIFIER

Eden Feleke – “Italian-Ethiopian War” –STATE QUALIFIER

JunFen Freihammer – “Chinese Exclusion Act” –STATE QUALIFIER

Lucy Wojda – “Witold Pilecki” –STATE QUALIFIER

Stella Dennehy – “Boys Who Exposed the President’s Men” — Regionals Qualifier



Group Websites

Liam Maves, Bodi Sutton & MJ Lagos – “Woodstock” –STATE QUALIFIER

Eleanor Paulsen & Chalon Coley – “Ida B. Wells” –STATE QUALIFIER

Megan Scobee, Emily Reed & Henry Deinema – “Reform in Minnesota Mental Institutions” –STATE QUALIFIER

Eleanor Snee, Hannah Omodt & Sydney Riley – “Rosemary Kennedy” –STATE QUALIFIER

Hector Yuquilima, Julian Kimmel, Sam Bailey & Darius Reynolds – “The First Opium War” – Regionals Qualifier

Max Nelson, Nico Alba & Andrey Garbisch – “Joseph Kennedy” – Regionals Qualifier



Individual Performances

Diana Truong – “Agent Orange: Across Two Worlds” –STATE QUALIFIER

Parker Adams – “Eva and Juan Peron/Peronism” –STATE QUALIFIER

Calvin Mattson – “Magically Suppressing a Revolution” –STATE QUALIFIER


Research Paper

Abigail Hames – “J. Marion Sims: The Father of Modern Gynecology” –STATE QUALIFIER