by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

DeLaSalle’s competition cheer team finished first at the Minnesota State Class A Cheerleading Championships on February 2 at the Roy Wilkins Auditorium in St. Paul.  The Islanders earned their third state title in a row and the eleventh competition cheerleading state championship since De started the program in 1997

Congratulations to the State Champions!  Dana Corbin `19, Iyana Ford-Pettis `19 (captain), Lisa Nyenie-Wea `19, Tatianna Karkoc `20, An Nguyen-Trinh `20, Kennedi Roberts `20, Sarah Ruckett `20, Maddie Maher `21, Eleanor Sherman `21, Anna Spack `21, Carmen Thomas `21, and Kate Harris `22 make up the varsity team.

Over 100 Minnesota schools sponsor competition cheer programs, and DeLaSalle’s has consistently been among the very best in the state over the past two decades.  Members of the program work out all summer, to be ready for tryouts in August and the first of many competitions in October.  Other cheerleaders opt to participate in sideline cheer programs only.  The athletes in the DeLaSalle cheer program are yet another point of Islander Pride in everything they accomplish year after year!

The 2018-19 Islanders also qualified earlier in the season for their 19th National Championship competition, the seventh time qualifying for the prestigious UCA National Championships in Orlando.  The UCA competition takes place February 7-11.

Several individual cheerleaders have also earned accolades throughout this season.  Iyana Ford-Pettis , Lisa Nyenie-Wea `19, An Nguyen-Trinh `20, and Sarah Ruckett `20 have all earned UCA All-American recognition., while Dana Corbin `19 earned one of the 17 spots on the Minnesota Honor Team of Excellence – a team that recognizes outstanding academics and leadership, in addition to cheerleading skills.  Corbin has received an academic scholarship as part of that recognition.

Of note, the coaches in the program are all former members of Islander championship teams.  Veronica Pettini `07 is the head varsity coach and program director.  She is assisted on the varsity by Ashley Blaine `08.  Anna-Marie Landherr ’08 and Yazmin LaFleur-Donaby ’15.