by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

DeLaSalle proudly salutes seven current seniors who have been named as Commended Students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.  Victoria Brimacomb, Adaire Criner, Ruth Kinyon, Joseph Phelan, Maria Spack, Luke Timmerman and Alex Wenner are recognized for their outstanding performance on the 2017 PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Competition.

DeLaSalle President, Barry Lieske, noted the broad abilities and impact of the seven scholars “These young women and men have not only been outstanding students while at DeLaSalle, but more importantly, they have contributed significantly to our school as people.  They have shared their gifts, their kindness, their effort and commitment, and their leadership by example.   When we talk about `Living, Jesus, in our hearts,’ these students provide a shining example for all of us.”

All seven DeLaSalle students are members of the National Honor Society.  They have been active leaders in an array of programs while at DeLaSalle:  Lasallian Ministry, Islander Welcome Crew, athletics, fine arts programs, academic clubs, student volunteers and more.  The seven Commended Students will be formally recognized at the annual Academic Awards Program on November 7, 2018.

This marks the 17th consecutive year that multiple DeLaSalle students have been recognized by the National Merit Scholarship program.  Brimacomb, Criner, Kinyon, Phelan, Spack, Timmerman and Wenner are among 34,000 students nationwide receiving Letters of Commendation, from more than 1.6 million high school seniors who entered the 2019 competition.  Commended students are recognized as among the top five percent in the country.

DeLaSalle congratulates all of these scholars, their parents, and their grade school teachers for the considerable effort that led to such outstanding performance.  DeLaSalle is a Catholic, college preparatory high school, drawing its student body from over 125 Twin Cities middle schools.  Over 98 percent of De graduates matriculate to college.