by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

Congratulations to 42 DeLaSalle students who, as individuals or in groups, are advancing 21 projects and three research papers to the 2018 Minnesota State History Day on April 28 at the University of Minnesota.  Once again, DeLaSalle is advancing more projects and more students to State History Day than any other high school in the Metro Region.

Three students have automatically advanced research papers to the 2018 State competition.   All other projects – exhibits, websites, documentaries, or performance – were most recently judged at the Metro Senior High Regional History Day competition on March 13 at Augsburg College.  DeLaSalle students earned the most Metro Regional awards, as 21 projects were selected to move on to State and two others earned Honorable Mention.  More information can be found at the Minnesota History Day website, including the Metro Senior High Regional final results by category and photos of the event.

Regional History Day Results

Regional History Day Photos

There are nine separate regional competitions in Minnesota during March, and high school students from across the state will be invited to the State competition.  Students who do well at the State competition may be chosen to compete at National History Day at the University of Maryland in June.  Several De students have qualified for Nationals in the past 11 years, including four students in 2017.  Erin Boehme `18 finished fifth in the nation in the Research Paper category last year.  Julia Gerloff `18, Nadia Johnson `18, and Ava Methner `18 also qualified for Nationals.

History Day is an annual project in the 11th grade Social Studies curriculum that gives juniors an opportunity to become expert historians by selecting and researching a topic of their choice around a national theme, which this year is “Conflict and Compromise.”  Students produced exhibits, dramatizations, websites, documentaries, and research papers, and they first displayed their projects for judging at DeLaSalle on February 20.

Congratulations to all the participants in Metro Regionals and good luck to the students who have advanced to State History Day in seven weeks:


Individual Exhibits:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Cole Smith-Walter – “Forced Conformity: American Indian Boarding Schools: Cole Smith-Walter”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Audrey Vidmar – “Jenson v. Eveleth: No Place For A Woman”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Rowan Keenan – “Korematsu v. The United States”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Nicolo Margioni – “Special Observations Group (SOG)”

REGIONAL PARTICIPANT:  Kalina Larsen – “Solidarność: Power of Powerless”

REGIONAL PARTICIPANT:  Olivia Porter – “Stonewall: The Start of It All”


Group Exhibits:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Sophia Marret and Muriel Ambrus – “Central Park Five”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Quinn Johnson, John Paine, Molly Stuart, Indigo Rudduck – “Creation of the FBI Behavioral Sciences Unit}”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Isaac Blaine-Sauer, Julia Brand, Reina Balley – “Folder Marked ‘X’”:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Benton Scott, Jack Uecker, Sam Parentau – “Marshall Plan”

REGIONAL PARTICIPANT:  Frances Haase, Tatziana McNight and Lucia Wallinga – “National Women’s Health Movement of the 1960s and 1970s”

REGIONAL PARTICIPANT:  Olivia Odegard, Caroline Kenney, Grace Kenney – “Warren Commission”


Individual Websites:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Christine Ohenzuwa – “Edo Art and the British Empire”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Shane de Sibour – “Environmental Movement”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Zichen Jiang – “Stem Cell Research”

REGIONAL PARTICIPANT: Kate Kouatli – “Occupational Abuses in Palestine”


Group Websites:

STATE QUALIFIER: Eldrick Dossavi, Corey Hines and Anthony Harris – “Def Comedy Jam”

HONORABLE MENTION:  Sam McNosky, Diego Theisen – “Black Soldiers treatment v Treatment of German POWs”

HONORABLE MENTION:  Alex Wenner, Hannah Hass – “Community Health Care Act of 1963”

REGIONAL PARTICIPANT: Jack Holthusen, Sam Goetz and Joe Brezonik – “The Siege of Waco: A Branch of History”


Individual Documentaries:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Luke Timmerman – “Creation of the State of Israel”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Gabrielle Hill – “Curt Flood”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Adaire Criner – “Harvey Milk”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Jeno Broschofsky – “Munich Massacre”


Group Documentaries:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Richard Choi, Diana Herrera Ortega, Kevin Cambi – “Khmer Rouge”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Anders Lundin, Grant Singer – “LSD and the CIA”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Thomas Pribbenow, Michael Larkin – “Oil Emissions Crisis and the Rise of Japanese Cars”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Thomas Bean, Emily Williams – “Women in World War II”


Group Performances:

STATE QUALIFIER:  Clara Coughlan-Smith, Juan-Pablo Guillen, Isabella Prater, Alexandra Thornton, – “Tyrone Guthrie: Building an Audience Under the National Spotlight Theater”


Research Papers (directly advancing to State):

STATE QUALIFIER:  Maria Spack – “Matilda Effect”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Ava Chance – “New York Abortion Debate”

STATE QUALIFIER:  Keegan Helmke – “Prohibition”