by DeLaSalle | | Headlines

Two staff members, Emily Westphal and Kristin Lundstrum, earned DeLaSalle’s highest annual honors, highlighting an awards ceremony at the conclusion of the Founder’s Day Mass and Celebration on April 27.   The annual Founder’s Day Mass gives the school community an opportunity to honor its Lasallian heritage and the life and legacy of the school’s namesake, St. John Baptist de la Salle. School chaplain, Father Joe Kuharski, celebrated the Mass and offered a moving homily about the selflessness and care of teachers at DeLaSalle and in all Lasallian schools.  The Christian Brothers community was also recognized and celebrated in song by the school’s choir.

English teacher Emily Westphal, won the Distinguished Lasallian Educator award.   Her colleagues noted her commitment to education that goes beyond the curriuculum.  “As a teacher, Emily challenges her students to be their best and pay attention to detail — in their writing or even how they wear the uniform. She demonstrates how she values the community at DeLaSalle by doing the little things that often go unnoticed.  She has supported staff members in many ways, whether displaying her gardening skills or by organizing the community to provide meals for those in need.”  The Distinguished Lasallian Educator award recognizes a staff member who sees the Lasallian school as a place of educational excellence, which shares in the mission of the Catholic Church.

Art teacher Kristin Lundstrum, meanwhile, won the Liemandt Excellence in Teaching Award (LETA) by vote of her teaching colleagues.  While presenting the award, principal Jim Benson noted that “Kristin is very passionate about the vocation, consistently developing new curriculum to stay relevant in the work and meeting the needs of students She gives them the best classroom experience possible.”  In addition to her teaching duties, Kristin works with her peers as a trainer in the Canvas Learning Management System and as a photographer for the school’s website and social media.

DeLaSalle also recognizes scores of students during its Founder’s Day celebration. Twelve students received a Giving Tree Award for their exemplary service to the community and will have their name included on the Giving Tree in the A building. Though a generous to the school by Tom Healey ‘56 and his wife Debbie, the service of these recognized students is paid forward to other DeLaSalle students who have a demonstrated financial need.

  • Elizabeth Boehme ’16
  • Meara Cline ’16
  • Emily Doerner ’16
  • Christian Kardio ’16
  • Isabelle Paulsen ‘18
  • Sierra Phillips ’17
  • Nevaeh Mariah Pittman ’16
  • Nesani Sabal ’16
  • Marcela Selvan Morin ’16
  • Tony Vu ’16
  • Margaret Waddington ’17
  • Emily Zarnoti ’16

DeLaSalle and the DeLaSalle Alumni Association recognized 13 students as recipients of Alumni Association Legacy and Farrell Scholarships. There are three levels to the Alumni Association Legacy scholarship – Gold, Silver, Bronze – and 11th grade students who have had a relative graduate from DeLaSalle are eligible to apply. The Farrell Scholarship is made possible by De alum Denny Farrell ‘62.

Farrell Scholarship

  • Cassidy Geddes

Gold Scholarship

  • Maya Wells
  • Emma Uecker
  • Dejonae Copeland

Silver Scholarship

  • Greta Nelson
  • Matt Steiner
  • Jada Richard
  • Sarah Khan
  • Natalie Maxam

Bronze Scholarship

  • Euphrosyne Daoutidou
  • Jovanna Lopez Ramales
  • Joanna Lopez Ramales
  • Kyle Suek

DeLaSalle also recognized Peggy Juergens for her 25 years of service.  Juergens is only the 17th employee in school history with 25 or more years of experience. Employees who reach the 25-year mark are honored with a brick paver stone on the DeLaSalle logo by the Athletic Field. Historically, Christian Brothers staffed almost all teaching and other positions at DeLaSalle, but very few reached 25 years of service because their assignments often changed every few years.

DeLaSalle Staff With 25 Years of Service

  • Leigh Anderson
  • Mary Beth Barry
  • Br. David Barth
  • Jack Bohen
  • Br. Michael Collins
  • Maureen Desmond
  • Ken Gieske
  • Paul Graf
  • Bill Johnson
  • Peggy Juergens
  • Barry Lieske
  • Ted Marsolek
  • Mike O’Keefe
  • Julie Peterson
  • Sharon Roth
  • Joe Shrake
  • Br. Robert Thomas